To Curate and Associate

Social Media and Digital Publications Surfed

Digital Inventory

Leave a comment

images1. Hi, my name is Lindsey and I’m an avid internet user (que: Hi Lindsey). I’m a UNLV senior who is taking 6 classes, started a new business, and since that wasn’t enough, hosting a sex education/pro health festival on campus. Needless to say, I utilize electronic media in not only my academic life, but my personal and business life as well. The internet has become a resource for me to obtain information, but to also leave an imprint on the internet. By getting information out there, I am able to attract attention to my business and furthermore myself. This comes in all types of forms like twitter, facebook, wordpress, pinterest, tumblr, youtube, etc. My electronic media usage isn’t just another aspect to my daily routine, but it’s apart of me, and my business.

2. My typical two-way electronic media use consists mainly of my cell phone and email to communicate on a daily basis. Sometimes I add facebook in the mix, and sometimes skype depending on the day. For the most part it’s just cell phone and email. I typically use these to communicate for work with business people. It’s great to have my email on my phone so I’m available at the touch of a button if there’s a problem, and in business, there’s always a problem. I remember using email along time, when I got my first account, as nothing more than a profile to take online quizzes and chat with friends in the message section. AOL anyone? Sadly, I think I still remember several of my screen names and their passwords. Now I utilize my accounts way more efficiently.

3. My social media posts, specifically on pinterest reveal my interest and construct my online identity by what I chose to post and “like”. I created this account less than a year ago and I have over 10 boards of varies likes, and a surplus of likes and comments on my friends boards. These pins allow me to create a digital pin board of pretty photos of the things I like. It’s soothing, relaxing, and helps me wind down from a stressful day. Sometimes I like to re-post photos from friends in my feed, or find photos pertaining to my mood and what I want to look at. Honestly, it’s mostly food. I like to look at pictures of yummy food while I eat not so yummy food because I don’t always have time to cook. I go a little crazy on the food photos. I once re-posted over 100 photos in one sitting. I then went and got In-and-Out because I was starving. These boards and posts show who I am by what I chose to express. Some days I chose to post pictures of food, others of cute animals, or etc. It’s just a great way to express your interests without being judged or rejected.

4. I actually had a blog not too long ago that I routinely posted on. Unfortunately I just got too busy and stopped all together. Screen Shot 2013-03-09 at 4.51.05 PMThe premise of my blog was to offer lengthy reviews and personal photos of places in Vegas pertaining to the Strip. So I would go to a pool, take photos, enjoy the experience, and then write about the pros and cons. I also offered ways to get into the more “Exclusive” areas that you typically have to pay for or wait in long lines. It was essentially the “insiders scoop” of Vegas day and nightlife. This blog was no means “popular,” but it was seen by one nightlife event host who in turn invited me to her continuous events at Vanity Nightclub. It was a great representation of how a simple blog can carry over into everyday life. I used blogger for this blog, but I’ve now switched over to wordpress for my new blog that is also attached to my business. As shown by my old blog and new blog, I’m really not afraid of what to post and if I offend anyone. After all, freedom of speech, right?

5. The distinction between social and academic/professional uses of media are very different. With academic/professional it’s important to put your best foot forward. While I might post drunk photos of myself relaxing by a pool on my facebook for my friends to envy, I would never do the same for a academic/professional blog or any reason really. I keep everything very separate from one another. I do however like to leave a digital “trail” of sorts with everything I do, so I happen to actually utilize my facebook for all three subjects. I do keep my facebook very professional, and if I do post a unprofessional photo, I hide it from people in certain categories, like academic and professional. I do keep my emails separate. I have 2 emails for academic, 1 for personal, and 1 for business. I find this is the easiest way to sort through what’s important and reduce missing what is important.

Social media and electronic usage is a vital aspect in today’s culture to effectively communicate and expand ourselves. By staying in touch with people we’ve briefly met on vacation, or took a class with, we are also expanding our networks to reach out to. All of these things and more are an important consideration when creating our own PLN’s and curating our own projects. It’s important now more than ever to branch out and leave a lasting impression on the internet in order to be a part of something bigger than ourselves.

Please feel free to get in touch with me:

www.facebook.com/lindseyreneewarner

www.bisousbox.com

www.twitter.com/bisousbox

www.facebook.com/bisousbox

Author: lindseyreneewarner

I'm a senior at UNLV wrapping up my last semester. I'm also a current start-up owner of a online sex education/ sex toy retail store. It combines the knowledge aspect from professionals in the adult industry as well as certified sexologists and therapists with the fun and liberating option of sex toys and all the accessories that can be introduced into the bedroom, or kitchen, or wherever. Likes: sex, food, hanging out at the Vegas pools, and an awesome cocktail! Dislikes: cockroaches and mean girls (we have to stick together ladies!).

Leave a Reply

